Last year’s U.S. Supreme Court Dobbs decision that overturned Roe v. Wade triggered a number of Pro-Life state laws.
And so far every southern state except one has passed or put into effect strong Pro-Life laws.
But this once conservative southern state remains the only state in the south to allow abortion on demand 26 weeks into pregnancy.
No longer a conservative state?
While every other southern state now has strong Pro-Life laws on the books since the fall of Roe v. Wade in 2022, Virginia remains alone as an abortion destination.
Some states had trigger laws that went into effect as soon as the court overturned Roe.
And in other states the legislatures moved to pass strong Pro-Life legislation.
Some states did it quickly and easily, while in others, like Florida and South Carolina, it took massive lobbying efforts and pressure by effective Pro-Life groups like Students for Life of America to get it done.
In North Carolina, abortion is now only legal up to the first 12 weeks of pregnancy.
In South Carolina, a new law banning most abortions around six weeks of pregnancy, passed after a strong lobbying effort.
Florida also passed a 6 week ban, and states like Alabama, Mississippi, Texas, and others have as well.
But Virginia has turned purple, if not blue, in the last decade or so and the Republican Party in the Old Dominion is run by moderates afraid of the abortion issue.
So not only has Pro-Life legislation not been passed, Virginia’s supposedly Pro-Life Governor Glenn Youngkin stopped any such legislation from even coming up.
An abortion tourism destination
That has made Virginia one of the top abortion destinations for women from all across, not just the south, but even the Midwest.
That’s because Virginia’s abortion laws are among the worst in the country.
Rae Ann Pickett with abortion mill Planned Parenthood said the organization is seeing a massive influx of women entering Virginia to have their children killed in the Commonwealth.
“We see patients who are driving from places like Georgia and Mississippi to Virginia,” Pickett said. “They’re driving all night long, getting their procedure, and driving back.”
The increase in abortions in Virginia are due not just to the Pro-Life laws passed in other states, but because those seeking an abortion can get one up to 26 weeks into their pregnancy.
Even worse, a doctor can also perform an abortion in the third trimester if the life of the mother is at risk, and there is no hard fast law in place to determine just what that means.
Doctors have been known to sign orders for abortions in the third trimester for absolutely no valid medical reason other than the woman wants one.
And as long as the doctor says it’s because the life of the mother is at risk, it’s perfectly legal under current Virginia law.
That is just one of the laws that must change.
In addition, Virginia should immediately pass a six week heartbeat bill as other states have done.
But the question is, will Virginia’s “Pro-Life” Governor allow legislation to move forward?
Pro-Life Press will keep you up-to-date on any developments to this ongoing story.